RobotX 2014

RobotX has finally come to an end. It has been an amazing 7 days out here with all the really awesome teams from all 5 countries. I’ve learnt so much and am really heartened by the friendships, co-operations and impressive work done on this inaugural event.

Firstly, Thank you AUVSI Foundation and 5:00 Film for giving me this opportunity to host, it has been a very interesting experience (and I finally get to have some YouTube videos yayyy). To my dear co-hosts Amy Elliott Chrissy Dailey Zoz Brooks and Producer Beth Anthony, thank you for teaching me so much. To Angie Sherman Westley, thanks for always helping me look presentable and audible in front of camera 🙂 To all others whom have helped me, thank you so much :))))

Final runs today didn’t go as well as expected, but I hope teams take it in their stride and don’t lose sight of the underlying lessons behind these competitions; it provide a hands-on opportunity for students to learn and grow, realize the importance of systems reliability, keeping calm under pressure, and the spirit of always striving forward even when the unexpected happens.

BumblebeeAUV has experienced setbacks like these aplenty in the past 3 years, and I learnt that what’s important is not just winning but to learn from our mistakes and from others, keep moving on and never stop trying.

Lastly, Congratulations to Cheah Kok Keong and team for pulling off this massive event.

From Robosub to RobotX, I’m glad to be part of this amazing community of robotics enthusiasts whose passion for engineering education is evident in their work and care amongst one another 🙂 I hope to be able to pay it forward in my future work and career.

Till next time!

IMG_0832.JPGIMG_0886.JPG

IMG_0810.JPG

IMG_0862.JPG

IMG_0798.JPG

IMG_0872.JPG

IMG_0834.JPG

IMG_0876.JPG

About Grace Chia

Loves Food and Travels. The views expressed here do not represent that of my company or my employers.
This entry was posted in Engineering Education. Bookmark the permalink.

I would like to hear from you :)